Vincent Safuto’s Weblog

Notes and observations

Embarking on a new adventure

Hi everyone and welcome to my blog on WordPress.com.

I’ll be posting here regularly and will reply to all comments. Don’t let me just mouth off, have your say, too.

There has recently been a very big change in my life. I was laid off from my job at the Sarasota Herald-Tribune. The news business is undergoing some major changes, and while I thought I might be immune, the Reaper struck. I am at the paper until Sept. 21, and will get severance, but it’s still a blow. So I’ll be out there looking for work and hope to land something in a field that will use my writing and editing talents, and also pay me enough to keep the house and cats in good shape.

There could be a silver lining, since I will have nights and weekends free and may even find a nice woman.

I love journalism still, and will miss the great people I worked with at the H-T.

Come back for more news later.

August 13, 2008 - Posted by | The jobless chronicles, Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. Vinnie: You’re probably already aware that laid-off and still-working newspaper journalists are increasingly turning to the web for start-up online ventures. Here’s a link to one site that fosters this idea: http://treehouse-media.net/blog/

    Also, professor Jay Rosen of NYU operates the Press Think blog (http://journalism.nyu.edu/pubzone/weblogs/pressthink/) as a forum for discussion of alternative ideas for saving the real-news biz, now that newspaper publishers are ducking their responsibility to the publc.

    I don’t know if you’re interested in going in this direction, but as your own blog demonsrates, access to an online platform for journalistic efforts is cheap. The creation of content that people or advertisers will pay for is the challenge. I’m looking at starting such a venture after I retire, which, I hope, will be soon.

    Good luck and please keep in touch.

    dc

    Comment by Denney Clements | August 13, 2008 | Reply

  2. Hi Vinnie:

    Fascinating, especially Denny’s comments which support my gut feelings re freelancers’ needing to head this way if we want to profit in the 21st century from our craft.

    Re your silver lining, see I need to be looking for you, too! Will keep u in mind. Most of the nice ladies a-looking whom I know are a deal-breaking distance away across FL! But u never know; I have readers in your area too.

    Wishing you luck & much success in all your endeavors.

    Cheers from Vero Beach,

    Peggy

    Comment by Peggy Fisher AKA The Parasol Lady | August 13, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

