Vincent Safuto’s Weblog

Notes and observations

Taking a census of my war games

I finally got around to going through the closet in the third bedroom and making a list of my board games, as well as the ones that I apparently got rid of.

My list of what I must have thrown out includes:

  • Terrible Swift Sword, a Civil War monster game
  • Pacific War, a monster game of World War II against Japan
  • Luftwaffe, my first game
  • Air Cav, which I bought at a mall store on Long Island eons ago
  • Struggle of Nations, a game on the Napoleonic wars
  • Mosby’s Raiders, a solo Civil War game
  • Hitler’s War, a grand strategic game of World War II

What do I still have? Actually, quite a bit. In addition to the original Squad Leader series (Squad Leader, Cross of Iron, Crescendo of Doom and GI: Anvil of Victory) and Advanced Squad Leader, I have these:

  • Gettysburg, D-Day and Battle of the Bulge in the big box format of the old Avalon Hill type
  • Wooden Ships & Iron Men in the same box type
  • Storm Over Arnhem, a solo World War II game
  • Raid on St. Nazaire, ditto
  • Panzergruppe Guderian, a World War II eastern front game
  • Patton’s Best, a solo tank game
  • The Arab-Israeli Wars, a game of 1967 and 1973 combat
  • Vietnam 1965-1975
  • Air War
  • Gladiator (don’t ask)
  • Richtofen’s War, World War I air combat
  • B-17: Queen of the Skies, a solo airplane game
  • The Ambush! series, which was Ambush, Move Out, Purple Heart and Silver Star, solo infantry combat
  • Battle Hymn, similar to the above, but in the Pacific
  • Beda Fomm, a game that came in a plastic bag. I remember it got a good review in a book about wargames that I still have

By the way, please don’t write asking me to sell these. They’re not for sale. Sorry.

I guess I should have held onto the games I tossed, but it’s water under the bridge now. I did, however, keep all my issues of The General, Avalon Hill’s house organ, though I don’t have a complete set.

By the way, as someone who keeps everything, I have the Avalon Hill price lists from those old days. It’s weird to see one from February 1986, almost 23 years ago, when part of the list included “microcomputer games” as well as some of the other, well, odd board games Avalon Hill and Victory Games put out.

Next time out, I’ll list what I own of Advanced Squad Leader.

January 26, 2009 - Posted by | Advanced Squad Leader | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

