Vincent Safuto’s Weblog

Notes and observations

Taking stock of my Advanced Squad Leader collection

It’s kind of shocking to realize how much I’ve invested in Advanced Squad Leader, and when you consider that I got started with Squad Leader in the late 1970s, that’s also a lot of time and money.

I kept everything ASL that I bought, and recently brought out all the stuff just to get a handle on what I own. Of course, I didn’t buy every ASL product but I think I have enough to keep me busy until I’m in my 200s.

I suppose when MMP took over and started giving out the new boards, people thought they’d have a heart attack. I have mostly the old, heavy boards and a growing collection of the new boards. As to which is better, of late I’ve used the new ones and they’re working fine. The big challenge is keeping the cats away from them.

So what do I have? Well, I have ASL Starter Kits One, Two and Three, and ASL Journals One through Seven as well as ASL Classic 1997.

Here is a list of my other ASL possessions:

ASL Action Packs

  • Action Pack 1, with boards 42 and 43 (old style) plus the Offboard Artillery Aid.
  • Action Pack 2, with boards 46 and 47 (old style), and the Overrun Flowchart.
  • Action Pack 3, Few Returned, with 12 scenarios and boards 24, 42 and 43 (new style).
  • Action Pack 4, Normandy 1944, with scenarios and boards 53, 54 and 55
  • On order is Action Pack 5, with maps 56, 57 and 58.

Other ASL materials

  • Original ASL rules in slip-case
  • ASL Second Edition rules
  • At some point, I bought the new chapter dividers
  • A GI’s Dozen scenario bundle
  • Singling add-on map
  • Primosole Bridge add-on map
  • Kakuza Ridge add-on map

Breaking down the boards, here’s what I have:

  • In the old hard-backed style I have boards 1 through 8, 10 through 43, and 46 and 47.
  • In the new style, I have boards t through z, 24, 42, 43, 48 through 51, and 53 through 55.
  • I have all the overlays from the above and below products.

ASL Modules

In addition to the modules, I also have ASL Solitaire 1.

  • Beyond Valor
  • Paratrooper
  • Yanks
  • Partisan!
  • West of Alamein
  • The Last Hurrah
  • Hollow Legions
  • Code of Bushido
  • Gung Ho!
  • Croix de Guerre
  • Armies of Oblivion

On order is Doomed Battalions, which will have boards 9, 11, 33, 44 and 45.

So what else is there? I have a pile of old Generals, though not complete years. Still, there’s enough to keep me busy. Also, I have tons of stuff printed out and downloaded (scenario replays, instructional materials, etc.)

I suppose there are worse hobbies than collecting cardboard with funny symbols and numbers, but I can’t think of any offhand.

February 4, 2009 - Posted by | Advanced Squad Leader | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

