Vincent Safuto’s Weblog

Notes and observations

Quiet, but not silent

If you’re one of the people (or the one; Thanks, Mom!) who’s been following my blog, you might have noticed that it’s gone quiet of late.

Looking at the calendar on the site, I see I haven’t posted anything since May 24, when I wrote a long post about my time in the Postal Service.

What’s the deal?

Well, my job at thebradentontimes.com is keeping me very busy, and I have also been writing a lot.

When I was a copy editor at the Sarasota Herald-Tribune, I rarely wrote anything beyond headlines or cutlines, though sometimes I was able to cover a story with prior permission. Now that I’m at a startup, I’m out there every day covering stories and writing. We just hired another reporter, so thebradentontimes.com has two people producing news. Actually, there are a couple other people, but they’re more in the weekly area of writing.

It’s kind of fun – as well as challenging – doing daily journalism. I’m learning how to attend a government meeting and get the gist of what’s happening. It seems sometimes that it all proceeds at a snail’s pace, with long debates about minor points, but much of what we see today in Florida is the product of government boards – county commissions, city councils, etc. – engaging in these meetings. And the media must be there to let the people know what’s happening.

With another reporter, we’re able to capture more of what’s going on in Bradenton and the results are encouraging. More stories means more readers and more readers means more advertisers, and more advertisers means more revenue so we can hire more people and become a better news source. As newspapers shrink, I know that the Web sites like thebradentontimes.com will catch up and fill in the gap. We’re missing a lot of stories, I grant you, but I think we’re catching a lot.

The great thing about the Web is that there’s no length limit, and I am able to quote more people at greater length about issues that I cover. That’s an advantage of the Web over newspapers. I know that reporters chafe at the limitations in the newspaper. I hated to have my stories cut, and to have to cut stories as a copy editor, to get it all to fit.

So my writing efforts have been transferred to the new site, but I will keep up the blog. In the meantime, please keep commenting, and don’t forget to visit thebradentontimes.com.

June 6, 2009 - Posted by | The news business

1 Comment »

  1. So is that why television news is so bad — because they have only a limited amount of time to delivery a story before advertisers need to cut in?

    I’m glad you’re not giving up the blog – you’re stories have been most entertaining.

    Cheers,
    D

    Comment by Diana-NYC | June 9, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

