Vincent Safuto’s Weblog

Notes and observations

A cold view of the night sky

“It is very cold in space.”
Khan, “Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan”

And it’s cold on Earth, too, even in Florida.

On Saturday night, I set up my trusty C8 and did some observing. Since buying the CG-5GT mount, I haven’t had great success with getting it aligned and finding objects, but it’s better and more reliable than the former mount. And someday, maybe it’ll find the Andromeda Galaxy on its own.

It was a “severe clear” day that became a very clear night. I aligned with two stars and three calibration stars, did some observing, then got a better polar alignment and did a couple of alignments and calibrations. I saw Jupiter, M37 in Auriga, failed to find the Andromeda Galaxy (it was almost at the zenith), then the crown jewel, M42 in Orion.

All in all, it was a good night, and it took me about a half-hour to thaw out. I bought some new eyepieces, and they worked great, especially the new 40mm Orion Plossl. I also used my 32mm eyepiece.

In other news, I’ve been busy as heck at work, and will soon be busier. I am starting the alternative teacher certification program at State College of Florida, and those classes start Jan. 12. I hope to teach middle to high school English, and maybe get some people launched on journalism careers.

That’s why I haven’t written in this blog in nearly four months.

Other than that, everything’s good, the cats are fine and I’m a little sad about the holidays being over, but it’s back to the grind.

January 4, 2010 - Posted by | Observations with Vinny | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

