Vincent Safuto’s Weblog

Notes and observations

Moving is a time to consider your stuff

For the past few days, I’ve been busy packing up my stuff in preparation for my move to Gainesville. It’s been an interesting time.

My books are all boxed up and stored in the third bedroom, and on Tuesday I went through my old VHS tapes. Many landed in the trash, but a few are being saved. One that was interesting and even got watched again before being tossed was a 1992 series on religious fundamentalism. It featured a profile of Bob Jones University and lots of talk about society falling apart. Hard to believe it was 18 years ago.

I tossed a lot of old magazines and cassette tapes, as well, but kept many cassettes, too.

My condo in Gainesville, which I’m renting, is smaller than the house and has no garage, so I rented a storage unit up there. A lot of my stuff will go there, though I changed my mind and will bring three bookcases to the new place and some books, too.

I’m excited about the new job, which I’ll start before I move up there, and look forward to being on the copy desk again. This time, it’s going to be great.

March 17, 2010 - Posted by | Living in the modern age | , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. I should have told you long ago how pleased I was to hear you were going to become a teacher. I think you’ll be quite good at it. I wish you much success in your new job. Now I have to look on a map to find out where Gainsville is located. I’ll give you a call soon. Good luck with everything!
    XO
    D.

    Comment by Diana-NYC | March 18, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

