Vincent Safuto’s Weblog

Notes and observations

Zen and the art of long-distance commuting

I’m on my days off right now, but beginning Sunday I was a mega-commuter.

That means driving 164 miles to work each way. On I-75, that adds up to 2½ hours behind the wheel. I leave at 1 p.m. to get to work at 3:30 p.m. (allowing a half-hour for delays). I have been leaving work at around midnight or later, and getting home at 2:30 a.m.

Most people drive less than 40 miles to work, I read somewhere, so while I doubt that my commute is a record, it’s a long slog from Ellenton, Fla., to Gainesville. Still, it’s worth it.

For one thing, it’s only a temporary measure. On April 1, I’ll be moving into an apartment in Gainesville. The new place is eight-tenths of a mile from my workplace, cutting my commute dramatically. If I wanted to stay in journalism and have a good job with benefits, this was the change that had to be made.

The past few weeks have been filled with me packing up stuff and planning what will go into the new and smaller place, and what will go into the storage unit. A big part of the planning is the move of the cats on April 1. When you have four cats, just finding a place can be a challenge; here, the biggest part is figuring out how to get them into their carriers, the carriers into the car and then the drive up to Gainesville without too much feline agita.

Even the big furniture and household goods move on April 8 is easier, I think.

I also have to plan what I’m going to take up to the storage unit by car. Nothing is simple nowadays, and I’ve even had to plan for my mail and magazines, not to mention getting my cable and Internet set up in Gainesville.

March 25, 2010 - Posted by | Living in the modern age | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

