Vincent Safuto’s Weblog

Notes and observations

Online dating follows Monster.com model

I’ve been getting more active in online dating since I moved to Gainesville.

By that I mean that I haven’t gone on any dates, but I updated my personal profiles on a few sites and have been actively searching. As always, I’ve had no success. No one is interested in me because I’m an atheist, I work nights and weekends, I’m pushing 50 and I guess I’m just a bad bet.

Actually, I have been getting some responses, but they’re of the “Hello, friend” variety. If you’re on Yahoo Personals (which is going away, by the way, and you have to switch your account to Match.com) you know what I mean.

In fact, even OKCupid isn’t immune. I got a message from a “woman” in Miami that was in broken English and included an e-mail address in the “hothoney at hotmail dot com” format that is used to get around the restrictions on including personal e-mail addresses in messages within the system.

So the liars and fakes have invaded all of the dating sites. Men such as myself who have little or nothing to offer women and thus rarely or never get responses – or responses to our responses – have to worry that every response that we get is fake.

It’s a shame that it’s come to this online, but that’s the way things go, I guess.

May 26, 2010 - Posted by | Living in the modern age | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

