Vincent Safuto’s Weblog

Notes and observations

Seeing house again made the trip worthwhile

On Wednesday, I drove down to Bradenton to vote early in the primaries, but the real reason was to see Safuto Castle again.

My house in Ellenton is doing fine, I am happy to report. I’ve made no secret to anyone that I really miss the place, and have had dreams about being back there. The tenant is taking outstanding care of the place, and doing a spectacular job on the outside landscaping.

In fact, he told me some people thought he bought the place, but he just takes pride in the house he’s living in. Best of all, he said, the water and electric bills are down considerably from the last place he rented. His wife did the interior decorating, and the place really looked like a home.

I’m realistic about the fact that I’m not really into decorating and furniture. I had what I needed to live nicely. Seeing what the house could look like was really an eye-opener. I’ll never have a wife since I’m not capable of connecting with women, but at least I know that if or when I move back there, it will have looked like a home.

I saw some old compadres from the Herald-Tribune on Wednesday, and that was nice.

At about 2:15 p.m., I pointed the nose of the Mustang northward on I-75 and began the 2.5-hour drive to Gainesville. The cats were glad to see me. This is my home, at least for the foreseeable future.

August 12, 2010 - Posted by | Living in the modern age | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

