Vincent Safuto’s Weblog

Notes and observations

Website brings back memory of ballgame

I was at work last night, and decided that while I had some spare time I might as well see if I could find the boxscore of a baseball game I attended as a child.

All I knew was that the New York Mets had played the Pittsburgh Pirates at Shea Stadium, it was sometime in the late 1960s, and the Mets had lost 8-1. They had taken a lead early in the game, because I was a kid and remembered that it was great that the Mets had the lead, and then the Pirates had tied the game. I thought, maybe we’ll go into extra innings, but I was soon disappointed.

Other memories included the fact that we had seats down the left-field line and a great view of Shea’s scoreboard, but had to look to the right to see the action.

At Baseball-Reference.com, I found the page for the Mets. Then I had to find the year.

In 1967, the Mets had not lost 8-1 to the Pirates, but then I moved to 1968, clicked on Schedule and Results, sorted the season by opponent, and hit paydirt.

On Wednesday, July 3, 1968, the Mets had played the Pirates at Shea. Here’s all the information on the game that day, and it was mostly as I remembered it. The Mets scored in the bottom of the second inning, and then in the top of the fourth the Pirates plated four runs. Two innings later, the Pirates had another four-run rally and that was it for the Mets that day.

There’s even a play-by-play.

The Web is like a time machine, and if you remember something, it’s probably stored somewhere.

September 22, 2010 - Posted by | Living in the modern age | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

