Vincent Safuto’s Weblog

Notes and observations

World will miss David Broder

I saw the news on the famous Romenesko site, where every good and even – like me – striving journalist and editor should be every day to catch the latest in journalism.

David Broder had died. He died of diabetes complications, the site said.

The accolades poured in for a journalist who was fair and balanced, who called it like he saw it.

I met David Broder once. Back when I was at the Sarasota Herald-Tribune, he came through the newsroom and was headed to a back conference room with some local folks, and I walked past. I had to say hello.

Someday, I’d like to be someone who can put it all together like Broder could. I’m still working on that, but for the moment I just wanted to shake his hand.

I walked past, made eye contact, extended my hand and said, “Sir, I’m a big fan of your work.” He took my hand and shook it. I don’t even remember if he said anything, but I was walking on air for the rest of the night. I had shaken the hand of a great in the business.

–30–, David Broder. I was a big fan of your work.

March 10, 2011 - Posted by | The news business | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

