Vincent Safuto’s Weblog

Notes and observations

Coming home to my Ellenton place

Driving down I-75 early Wednesday morning, I feared that I would find that my key no longer worked in the front door.

It was still dark when I finished loading up the car and set off for my house. The 165-mile drive was way more bearable thanks to satellite radio, and I stopped for breakfast on the way. I figured that if the key didn’t work, I wouldn’t have to wait for the rental agent.

I arrived at the house, and for the first time in nearly two years used my key to open the door and walk in.

It was weird. The place was cleaned and empty, and smelled strange. I walked through as if I were inspecting a house I was considering buying, opening bedroom doors and checking the closets, inspecting appliances and checking out the garage. I opened the garage door and backed the car in so I could unload the vehicle.

Soon, I was out again, to the store to buy some Febreze and cat litter. The cats are still in Gainesville, but I wanted to set up the litter boxes for their arrival in two weeks.

I was surreal, though. I set up the inflatable bed in the master bedroom, put the sheets on it, laid out the pillow, and then slept for a couple of hours. I got up around 1 p.m. and made ready to leave the house. Initially, I wasn’t going to come back until I come with my brother Patrick next Wednesday to drop off the contents of the storage unit, but later I decided to drive down Thursday afternoon with some more stuff to drop off, and spend the night at the house.

I have to go to work Friday, so I’ll leave Friday morning, but I’m hoping to get in a walk around the neighborhood before I go.

One thing I noticed. It’s a lot quieter in the house than in the Gainesville condo. And I slept a lot better. Let’s hope it’s a sign of things to come.

February 23, 2012 Posted by | Life lessons, Living in the modern age | , , , , , , | Leave a comment