Vincent Safuto’s Weblog

Notes and observations

Back into the job search scrum

I had just arrived at work on Friday afternoon and was discussing a technical issue with the newsroom tech guy when the editor called me into his office.

It couldn’t be good. It wasn’t. I was being laid off.

Again.

I still remember the night when I was offered the job at the newspaper, and how happy and excited I was to be back in journalism. I made a lot of changes to bring this about, and some left me bitterly unhappy, like leaving my house in Ellenton, but having pay and benefits makes it real.

I went through the process and even though I could have gone home right away, worked one more shift. I said goodbye to my coworkers, wished them the best and came home.

I’m still moving back to Ellenton, and I have irons in the fire, but unemployment is nothing to take lightly. I have some money saved, but bills to pay.

Let’s just say this: I envy the cats right now.

February 25, 2012 - Posted by | Life lessons, The jobless chronicles | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

