Vincent Safuto’s Weblog

Notes and observations

Something old is now something new

I’ve been living in my house for a couple of weeks now, and can honestly say that I’m making myself at home in every sense of the word.

In fact, it’s like I never left. I put the computer in the same room as before, and the bed is in the same spot in the master bedroom. I still have more unpacking to do, mostly of the other computers and my keyboard, but the books are back on the shelves, the DVDs are back where they belong and the cats are right at home.

Shadow likes to lie down next to my computer chair as I sit at the desk and work on the computer, and sometimes I’ll look down and see her rolled onto her back, with her tummy exposed and just itching to be rubbed. The other cats have taken over their old positions in the house, too.

One thing I’ve noticed is just how quiet it is, especially at night. I am sleeping almost all night now, without interruptions from sirens, helicopters, music, street noise or other noise, and waking up refreshed and ready for the day.

If there’s a fly in the ointment, it’s that I’ve had to delay my astronomical observations. The moon is nearly full and far too bright to see anything other than the planets. When the moon is in a less bright phase, I’ll be sure to feast on the wonders of Jupiter and Venus in the west, and Mars in the east. I may even stay up late some night for a shot at Saturn.

March 8, 2012 - Posted by | Life lessons, Observations with Vinny | , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

