Vincent Safuto’s Weblog

Notes and observations

Getting back into the business I want to be in

I almost can’t sit still because I’m so excited.

Today, Oct. 8, 2012, I got the news. I’m rejoining the full-time work force with a job at The Lakeland Ledger.

On Oct. 22, forget about reaching me at home in the afternoon. I’ll be busy helping on another newspaper.

I had a good feeling today that something big was going to happen. After interviewing for four newspapers, and waiting to hear, I figured I had about a 90 percent chance of landing something.

Well, it happened. Sure, there’s a ton of paperwork and a few other details to iron out, and I have plenty of work to do for the Sarasota Herald-Tribune before the new position begins, but I am just ready to kiss the cats.

It means I’ll be on the job on Election Day, and bringing the news to the people, in print and online. It means my skills and experience still matter, and that so long as ink is flung onto newsprint, or the web is around, there will be people like me doing our job and loving it most of the time.

H.L. Mencken said it best: “…as I look back over a misspent life, I find myself more and more convinced that I had more fun doing news reporting than in any other enterprise. It is really the life of kings.”

October 8, 2012 - Posted by | Living in the modern age, The news business | , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Congrats! Good luck with the new job.

    Comment by Steve C | October 9, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

