Vincent Safuto’s Weblog

Notes and observations

Decision to sell a house isn’t an easy one

A few days ago, I read in the local newspaper that the housing market in Manatee County was starting to heat up. Buyers are losing out to other buyers with higher bids, builders are planning to build houses again and Florida is again becoming a desirable place to retire to.

The past few years have been tough ones for me, with two job layoffs, an interval where I moved 160 miles away and rented out the house, meeting the challenge of keeping the house and finding another job. Still, I kept at it and kept the house. A refinancing helped lower my payments and I’ve been working at my job for a year and a half, and things look pretty good at The Lakeland Ledger.

I began to ponder my options this week, and have decided that I want to sell the house and move to the Lakeland area, where I’ll rent a house instead of buying.

Part of the desire is simply to cash out. I believe I can sell the house and walk away with a nice cash fund after the deal, and even if my rent in Lakeland is a little higher than my mortgage payment, and my federal taxes are a little higher, the fact is that gas at $3.60 a gallon is eating my life away, even in a car that gets 40 mpg highway.

Plus I see a lot of time being spent in the car. I’ve made good use of it, listening to NPR podcasts and staying informed on the news, but after a year and a half, I am ready for change.

Many people dread change, and fear new surroundings. I look forward to change and new surroundings.

It’s stressful for the cats, of course, and believe me, packing up and moving somewhere isn’t exactly the easiest thing on my body, but I think I have a couple more good moves left in me. And it’s a good thing I kept the boxes from my last move.

I can wait for a good price on the house, and will keep everyone posted. I expect my cellphone numbers and email addresses to stay the same.

Let the new adventure begin!

June 4, 2014 - Posted by | Life lessons, Living in the modern age | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

